Author
Topic: Switching Instruments - Need a refresher

mikep

I haven't used VDL since last fall and can't remember how to change instruments on a staff. For example, in the attached image, I have a marimba which is playing back the chimes sound. This is an old file that opened up, deleted everything (or so I thought) and then began working in for this year's show.

I know I had the chimes set to play on the marimba staff in the old file. I don't see anything there anymore indicating to change the sound. When I enter the notes, the marimba sound plays. But it switches to chimes when I hit the play button. Regardless, I can't remember how to handle instrument changes to get it back to marimba. Can someone assist me?

I know I used to always just change the channel to get to a new sound, but it doesn't work that way anymore, does it?

I'm using Finale 2014.5 with VDL 2.5. Thanks!

mikep

I also should mention that I'm getting sluggish performance when using this file or any of my previous files that were based off the templates. When I open a new default file, Finale runs as expected.

For example, when putting in a note using simple entry, there'a about a one second delay to when it shows up on screen and subsequent notes show up almost as slowly. Other actions are similarly slow. Not sure if this is related to the templates, but it doesn't occur on a new default file.

TBoliske

For the instrument change, check to see if there are start and end measures for the chimes. If they are still in the file you will need to delete them. You may even need to delete the chimes from the score. Leave it in your Kontakt set up, just don't display it in the Score Manager. It's my guess that because you are using an older file rather than a new clean version that there are some ghosts hiding around.