superfluous
Extras
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
      
   
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Sibelius 8 and templates
mmaize
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


Hello,

I have a couple of questions.

I purchased a new computer and have The Write Score templates installed on my other computer with Sibelius. Am I able to download those templates on this computer?

I am looking to upgrade to Sibelius 8 on my new computer, and I wanted to double check that this package will work for me :

https://www.thewritescore.com/product/sibelius-s7s-vdl-bundle/

I just want to make sure I understand this package correctly- it makes Sibelius Sounds and VDL 2.5.5 work with the template, correct?

Also, if I purchase Sibelius Ultimate, is there a TWS template for that?

Thanks for the help.
Logged
Hugh Smith
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1024


Hi Mike

The Template license allows you to use the Template on whatever computers you have. Yes, you can download and use them on the new computer.

Yes, the S7S-VDL Bundle works in Sibelius 8.

Don't let the "Ultimate" label confuse you, it and the "Basic" are both Sibelius 8. The difference is Basic is a stripped down version of the FULL program.

Template-wise, sounds to me like you already have what you need.
Logged
Hugh Smith
mmaize
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


Thank you so much for the helpful information! Attached is a screenshot of the products I have purchased from TWS. Which one should I download in order to work with Sibelius Ultimate? Thanks for the help.

* Screen Shot 2018-10-22 at 8.50.42 AM.png (99.62 KB, 1670x406 - viewed 67 times.)
Logged
Hugh Smith
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1024


You need to download all of them. Each one has something you need out of it.

Be sure to (re)read all documentation, especially Sib_Bundle_Addendum.pdf.

If you still have questions after that, let me know.
Logged
Hugh Smith
mmaize
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


Thanks for the help. Now I can not find the sound set in the drop down menu in the Kontakt player in player configuration.

I made sure to make the sounds folder and put the correct .xml file in it. I have Kontakt 6. I have searched here and on the internet and can not find an answer if Kontakt 6 works with Sibelius Ultimate. Do I have to download Kontakt 5? If so, I can't find the site to download it anywhere.

I have attached two pictures where you can see what I see in Sibelius and also another picture that shows Kontakt I 6 and VDL successfully installed in Native Access

* Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 7.10.23 PM.png (634.37 KB, 1936x1514 - viewed 54 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 8.13.18 PM.png (317.36 KB, 1780x1506 - viewed 71 times.)
Logged
mmaize
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


Hello,

I just wanted to follow up on this to see if anyone could help me out. Thanks.

-Michael
Logged
Hugh Smith
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1024


Kontakt 6 Player is not compatible with Sibelius 8.x yet. Stick with Kontakt Player 5 until then.

If you need to download KP5, I think Tapspace might be able to help (not sure though).
Logged
Hugh Smith
mmaize
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


Hey Hugh,

Thanks for the info. I contacted them and they helped me find the place to download Kontakt 5! Now, when I open the TWS Sibelius template, I choose Kontakt 5 AU and select the vdl soundset for the soundset. Next, I added a marimba and there is no sound. I know I am missing a step here. It's been a while since I've done all of this so I'm forgetting how to do all of this. Is there a step to load VDL into Kontakt? I checked the VDL read me but couldn't find that info. Could you point me in the right direction? Thank you for the help!
Logged
Hugh Smith
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1024


Hi Mike

Good, you found a copy of KP5.

Sibelius will auto-load patches into Kontakt Player for you once it's all setup properly. Can you manually load VDL patches into Kontakt Player when it's in stand alone mode?

Please attach another screenshot of your updated Playback Configuration.
Logged
Hugh Smith
mmaize
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


Hi Hugh,

Sorry for hiatus. I got caught up on some other things and my computer was in the shop the past month.

I reviewed the VDL 2.5 User Guide and found the section about the Kontak player. I followed the directions and added Virtual Drumline 2.5 into Kontakt 5. However, I see on the directions that it says I need to make a copy- I was able to find "Virtual Drumline 2.5" on my computer but I am not sure I made a copy?

I attached two screen shots. The one with Kontakt 5 in standalone is the message I see when I attempt to add the library. It says it failed. However, when I click OK, I see that the VDL library was still added.

The second screen shot is in Sibelius. I added the VST Kontakt player, and it now works- the VDL sounds are playing properly! Looks like I had the AU Kontakt player in there instead. So, I guess it works now, unless you see something on my screenshots that I need to fix?

Also, when I delete the VDL library in Kontakt 5 in stand alone mode, the sounds still work in Sibelius when I have Kontakt 5 VST into playback devices in Sibelius. Is this normal?

Thank you for the help.

* Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 4.13.00 PM.png (912.07 KB, 2168x1338 - viewed 15 times.)

* Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 4.22.12 PM.png (202.13 KB, 1974x1312 - viewed 16 times.)

* Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 4.20.47 PM.png (284.38 KB, 1804x1286 - viewed 16 times.)
Logged
Hugh Smith
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1024


I attached two screen shots. The one with Kontakt 5 in standalone is the message I see when I attempt to add the library. It says it failed. However, when I click OK, I see that the VDL library was still added.

Is this comment for the first image? Nothing from the TWS Template package should be loaded directly into Kontakt. I still don't see VDL loaded into Kontakt, should see it in the left sidebar.

The second screen shot is in Sibelius. I added the VST Kontakt player, and it now works- the VDL sounds are playing properly! Looks like I had the AU Kontakt player in there instead. So, I guess it works now, unless you see something on my screenshots that I need to fix?

Since you're on a Mac, the AU version is the one to use (all Mac users I've ever seen use AU). Either way, I would not use both AU and VST at the same time.

Also, when I delete the VDL library in Kontakt 5 in stand alone mode, the sounds still work in Sibelius when I have Kontakt 5 VST into playback devices in Sibelius. Is this normal?

Yeah, something with that statement doesn't sound right. If VDL is not loaded into Kontakt, then Sibelius is triggering sounds from somewhere else.


So, do you have VDL/Kontakt working as you think it should be? You should:

1) be able to see VDL in Kontakt as a loaded library.
2) be able to load VDL patches into Kontakt directly in Kontakt (stand alone mode).

You may need to get back with Tapspace to help get VDL installed correctly, and/or double check what is installed is good to go.
Logged
Hugh Smith
Pages: [1]
Print
 
Jump to: