Author
Topic: Kontakt Player 5 and Sibelius 7

stevenrherman

TWS edit: split topic

I am currently running Kontakt Player 5 with Sibelius 7 and i am only able to hear VDL 2.5 Marimba and Vibe sounds, no aux, or battery. I am very new to this and have been reading around for answers to this problem. Is the templet necessary for these sounds to be heard?

Hugh Smith

Quote from: stevenrherman on October 17, 2011, 12:14:41 AM
I am currently running Kontakt Player 5 with Sibelius 7 and i am only able to hear VDL 2.5 Marimba and Vibe sounds, no aux, or battery. I am very new to this and have been reading around for answers to this problem. Is the templet necessary for these sounds to be heard?

Are you really running KP5 inside Sibelius 7 successfully? I wasn't aware that anyone was able to do that with the most recent update that's available. Otherwise, I'm not quite sure what you're asking. Please expound on your question.

Hugh
Hugh Smith

stevenrherman

i believe so. im very new to this but i am able to hear the mallet instruments playback fine. I've included a picture of the audio devices im using. I just downloaded the Sib 6b Templet as i was told it would work fine with 7 however i can't locate where to install the xml file.

Hugh Smith

Ah, OK, the image helps a lot. Sibelius 7 does see KP5 as a VST, but it doesn't see it as a Kontakt device ("Type" field under Available Devices). If it doesn't see it as a Kontakt device, it won't give you "VDL SoundSet 6.0b" - or any other Kontakt sound set - in the Active Devices sound set drop down menu (double click to access the list).

If you can use Kontakt 4 Player, you'll still probably need to do some Registry tweaks to get Sibelius to see that VDL is installed. You may want to contact Native Instruments for a KP4 installer, or see if you can get assistance from Tapspace by submitting a support ticket there.